Dry Skin Relief From The Grocery Store

I’ve spent years trying a variety of lotions in hopes of finding one, or even a combination of lotions, that would keep my severely dry skin soft for more than an hour or so.  My hands and feet are both an issue onto themselves that I will cover later on.  For the rest of my skin, I had long since given up hope of decreasing the scaly dry pealing skin when I came across a bit of advice.

Since the majority of lotions weren’t working for me I had started looking for natural skin softening remedies.  One in particular that I came across on the internet proved to be a winner for my terribly dry skin.

After showering, the article suggested patting only a little of the water off but otherwise leaving the skin fairly dam.  The instructions were to gently rub a small amount of “Extra Virgin Olive Oil” on to each area of the skin and leave it to soak in.  If you choose to take this advice and look for Olive Oil in the grocery store you will discover Olive Oils in a variety of different grades.  DO NOT make the mistake of just grabbing a bottle of olive oil and think you’re getting a good grade of oil.  Instead, look for this entire title on the bottle of Olive Oil you choose.  It MUST say “Extra Virgin Olive Oil, First Cold Pressing”.  This is a bit more expensive than the other grades of Olive Oil sold at most grocery stores.  On the other hand, it has all the vitamins, minerals as well as healing properties that severely dry skin desperately needs.

The internet advice further suggested buying or recycling a spray bottle (please wash it out a couple of different times with dish soap and hot water and then rinse it at least 3 times).  Pouring the “Extra Virgin Olive Oil” in the spray bottle and keeping that in the shower will ensure two or three sprays in the hand can be measured out at a time.  Use a couple or 3 sprays on the upper arms and another 2 or 3 sprays on the lower arms.  Continue in this manner for the entire body and then leave it to soak in naturally.

My skin is so severely dry that I usually need the “Olive Oil” topped by a lotion specifically made for dry cracking skin.  So I use the “Extra Virgin Olive Oil, First Cold Pressing” as soon as I finish showering and then apply either “Aveeno, Daily Moisturizing Lotion” or “Thera, Body Shield with Dimethicone”.   The “Thera”, although more expensive than other lotions works wonderfully for me.

My feet and hands are major issues onto themselves.  I have such dry hands and feet that I’ve had to take antibiotics to keep the possibility of infection down while enduring antibiotic cream and bandages on both my hands and feet for days.  There is only one product I’ve ever found that corrects skin that is dry, cracking and bleeding.  While in the shower I exfoliate my hands and feet, as much as I can tolerate, with an exfoliating pouf.  As soon as I’m out of the shower I apply the Olive Oil and then top that with “Burt’s Bees Coconut Foot Crème with Vitamin E”.  Then, I wear a pair of cotton gloves on my hands and cotton socks on my feet for a while to let the foot crème soak in and do its work.  This stuff smells heavenly so don’t worry about the smell on your hands.

I wouldn’t wish skin that is as dry and often bleeding as mine is on my worst enemy.  Well, maybe my absolute worst enemy but certainly no one else. LOL!!  So, if you are cursed with severely dry bleeding skin as I am these tips might just prove to be worth their weight in gold for you.

Be sure to let me know if you try any of these ideas and especially if they work for you.  I wish you total relief with these products.

Posted on July 22, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

