More on traditional medicine, Acupuncture and Chiropractic

I’m not an Acupuncturist or Chiropractor so I can only relate the real life experiences I’ve had with both of these “alternative medicine” disciplines.  It is my hope that reading the articles I’ve written thus far, possibly with more to come, the reader finds some practical information they can use in their health care decisions.  Determining if an Acupuncturist or Chiropractor is the right marriage of traditional “western medicine” and “alternative medicine” is something everyone should give serious consideration to.

One reason for considering alternative medicine is the “pill popping” reputation some western doctors seem to tolerate and at times actively seek in the name of more money.  I had one doctor in the Rocky Mountain area that actively encouraged a parade of pharmaceutical company representatives to provide him with every new pharmaceutical that hit the market.  Each Wednesday, from 11:30 to 4 pm there were anywhere between four and nine pharmaceutical representatives restocking this doctor’s shelves.  As soon as one finished unloading an overflowing bag on wheels the other pharmaceutical representative would start in.  It just so happened that the prescriptions this doctor wrote were almost always from these same drug companies.  Yes, these pharmaceutical products saved patients money initially when they went home with numerous samples instead of paying for a prescription.  At the same time it made this doctor look like a pill popping machine, which indeed he turned into.  Since I’ve never cared for pills, having taken so many strong pain pills in my years, I didn’t last long with this doctor after I discovered what was going on every Wednesday.  My experiences with other traditional doctors weren’t always as worrisome as with this particular physician, but at the same time did not measure up to what we’d all hope the quality of medicine in America would be. 

My experiences with alternative medicine have been limited, not because I was ever opposed to “alternative medicine”, but rather I simply didn’t have an opportunity to learn much about any other choices available to me.  For many years the only alternative I believed was available in the west was Chiropractic and my experiences with that discipline was fairly limited, out of choice, due to the pain they seemed to cause me.  In fact I think I’ve been to a Chiropractor maybe a dozen times in my 39-and-holding years.  One particular series of visits was after a car rear-ended the vehicle I was in, while setting at a stop sign waiting to enter traffic.  The force of the hit pushed us out in the street and we barely missed being hit broadside by a 45 mph moving car.  The other driver’s insurance company sent my husband and I to a Chiropractor in hopes of saving on those all-important monetary payouts.  A few of the visits were somewhat helpful when the Chiropractor hooked me up to a T.E.N.S unit.  This relieved some, but not all, of the pain and didn’t do much of anything for the soreness and stiffness that was left over in my neck and back.  I absolutely drew the line at the Chiropractor wanting to put my neck in a machine that forcibly turned the neck in different directions.  I had no idea what this was supposed to accomplish and was absolutely determined not to find out either.  That was one of the scariest looking contraptions I think I’ve ever seen over and above pictures of torture machines from medieval Europe.  So most of my experiences with this medical alternative have been such that I wouldn’t recommend Chiropractic to my very worst enemy, much less my very best friend. 

The only other “alternative medicine” I know enough about to comment on is Acupuncture and I’ve only enjoyed the benefits of this medical discipline within the last year.  I would encourage the reader to check out my articles “Acupuncture as Primary Medicine” as well as “Comparing Chiropractic and Acupuncture on My Life” for more information.  Acupuncture is one of the most restful, relaxing, and rejuvenating medical disciplines there are. In fact after needles are inserted at strategic nerve points on the body the patient is given time to relax and even sleep if they so desire.  The pain associated with the insertion of needles at any point on the body is probably a 1, or for those who are extremely needle wary maybe a 2, on a scale of 1 to 10.  Even then any potential pain lasts only long enough to take a deep breath and slowly let it out, then it’s over and the needle can do its work.  Acupuncture also seems to this patient as one of the least invasive, the least side effect ridden, and most effective medical disciplines I’ve yet come in contact with. 

I would encourage anyone who is suffering with severe chronic pain or any other ongoing medical issue to visit an Acupuncturist at least twice to see if this “medical alternative” can do them some good.  I would be willing to bet the patient will come away in absolute awe at what those little needles, in the right hands, can accomplish for a variety of ills, not just pain.  In the future I will be doing at least one article, possibly more, on the specific issues that acupuncture has helped me with and the number of treatments it took to obtain the desired results.

Posted on June 28, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

